Why live in culturally-rich NYC if you don’t attend a Little Orchestra Society performance?

LP#1 image with info

I remember when my oldest daughter was a baby, I’d read in the magazines about all the cultural events I would take her to when she was old enough.  Once she was 3, we made plans with friends to attend a series of musical performances that turned my kids into music lovers!  The Little Orchestra Society has 2 series, the Lolli-Pops and Happy Concerts. You’ve probably received postcards from them just like we always do.  I want to shine a spotlight on this organization because it is that special!

I was not sure about traveling to the East Side to Hunter College for the show.  But once there, I saw so many Upper West Side families who had older kids and said they had been going for YEARS!  They would never miss introducing their younger kids to the same musical experience!  That was validation for me for the trip.  Now, my kids are old enough for the Happy Concerts which have performances at Avery Fisher Hall at Lincoln Center.

I reached out to the Little Orchestra Society to see if I could offer a discount to other West Siders as an added incentive to have you enjoy this musical experience that I feel helped lay the groundwork for my kids to LOVE MUSIC!

You may use this code (mention UWSKids) to purchase tickets by calling 212-971-9500 (The Little Orchestra Society) or 212-772-4448 (Kaye Playhouse box office).  You will receive a $5 discount.  This would not apply to the $15 seats.  They sell subscriptions as well as single tickets. The code will be for single Lolli-Pops or Happy Concerts performances including the concert shown above: Surprise Symphony.  For subscriptions, a $10 discount is being offered on each subscription package.  Please call 212-971-9500 and also mention UWSKids.  This would also not apply to the $15 seats.

Their website www.littleorchestra.org  has supportive educational activities which my kids have also enjoyed.  We have gone to the performances before where we just show up and enjoy it.  But the times when I have been organized in advance and talked with the girls about the activities and sections in the orchestra, the characters and what they will hear and see, they have gotten much more out of the experience.

Be sure to check out the 2 series which are age-specific:

screenshot

screenshot

Also, save the date for:

screenshot

About valeriegerstein

A former online media professional, I am home, on the Upper West Side, with my 2 gorgeous girls, Mia and Liza and their wonderful Daddy, Mark.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

