Spend Martin Luther King Jr.’s Birthday at the Vital Theatre’s Show Way

Fancy Nancy The Musical

I took my 6-year-old daughter to see “Show Way” today. If you are looking for a memorable way to Mark Dr. King’s birthday, I highly recommend taking your family to this show. While the show is not glittery like Fancy Nancy or Angelina, and not as well known, Show Way will bring to life what our children are learning about different cultures and heritage – especially about the civil rights that Martin Luther Kind fought for.  There was a line in the show where a character said, that since it wasn’t their heritage, it did not matter as much to them.  It mattered most to Toshi, the main character, who could be any of us or any of our children.  Her friends helped her and found their own family stories through this journey.  As I watched the young friends, a diverse collection of backgrounds that any of us on the Upper West Side can relate to, I found myself crying one moment and laughing the next.  They talked about their great, great grandparents and their legacies.

Grandma Ann was the family member who Toshi spoke about most. My Grandma is Grandma Ann.  I could relate.  You can too if you just let yourself be a little vulnerable and choose to expose your child to something that is a little uncomfortable.  The Vital theatre took a risk on this show. I could tell, and they told me as we bought the CD and book (my daughter was begging!).  When we got home and played the music for our younger daughter, my husband said, wow, you really did go to a Broadway show! This sounds amazing! It was. I highly recommend Show Way!

I did have to whisper in my daughters ear many times throughout the show to explain what was going on, giving her context. They recommend the show for ages 7 and up.  I think Mia will remember this show for many years so I’m glad I took her.  I would advise thinking about their age suggestion.

Jan 19th – Mar 3rd

Saturdays & Sundays at 11 am & 1 pm

School Holiday Performances

Jan 21, Feb 6 & 18 – 19

About The Show

In SHOW WAY, 11-year old Toshi Georgiana has lost a beloved family heirloom. As she searches for it, she is led by generations of women who came before her, from slaves who sewed paths to freedom to civil rights marchers. Come join Toshi as she tries to find her special connection to the past and celebrates the possibilities of the future!

Ticket Prices

REGULAR $ 25
PREMIUM $ 30

3 Ways To Purchase

ONLINE: Click here or visitiseats.net
PHONE: Call (212) 579-0528
IN
PERSON:
Go to the Vital Theatre Box Office, 2162 Broadway, 4th Floor, at 76th Street, New York, NY.

 

 

About valeriegerstein

A former online media professional, I am home, on the Upper West Side, with my 2 gorgeous girls, Mia and Liza and their wonderful Daddy, Mark.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

