We were all there at the Vigil for the Krim Family – in person or in spirit

Many people told me they were going, everybody said they were thinking about the Krim family.  Whether you were able to attend in person or not tonight, you can imagine the support that swelled in the Hippo Playground. I have no photos to share, it didn’t feel right.  The bagpipers played songs to unite us.  The school community from La Escuelita set the tone and sang a song in Spanish which was written on a paper with Lulu and Leo’s photos (which they passed out before the procession).

As I closed my eyes listening to the wind in the trees, the bagpipes, and the planes flying above, I thought about the children, the family whose lives will never be the same, and our community of moms, dads, nannies, kids, and grandparents who came together. It could have happened to anyone who was there.  Why does this family have to suffer? Should the Krim family stay in NYC, I know they will have a procession of people holding them up and hugging them every day.

I understand there is a private memorial tomorrow morning for the children.  My thoughts are with everyone in the family and all those sharing in their sorrow.

Also, my friend told me tonight at the vigil that Marina’s blog was reinstated online: http://littlemisslucia.livejournal.com 

What a tribute to these beautiful children whose Mommy loved them with all her heart and soul. Let’s keep their souls in our hearts.   Let’s hug our children daily and capture their moments (even somewhat close to) how preciously Marina did.

About valeriegerstein

A former online media professional, I am home, on the Upper West Side, with my 2 gorgeous girls, Mia and Liza and their wonderful Daddy, Mark.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

