The world is watching but WE LIVE HERE

Once the reporters stop inquiring, once the media turns to newer stories, the Krim family may (or may not) return to our neighborhood.  If anyone is in contact with their family, I hope you will post comments here or get in touch with me so that we can help them in their daily lives once the spotlight is off of them.  I do not know their religion, if any, but in Judaism, the customs (you can click on “coping with death” above) help mourners through the first 7 days, then the first 30 and the first year.  Being sure that the people around them continue to show support and acknowledge their loss.  I understand that this is not an ordinary loss and has certainly touched all of us in a deep way.  I want to see if we can all behave as though we are marking these measurements of time, gradually leading toward a day not filled with tears and deep heart break.

If anyone knows if they can use the help from us nearby, some thoughts I had (and anyone, please chime in) are:

1. Deliver home-cooked meals to the immediate family, either at the hospital, a hotel or later, their home.  There are websites that can help arrange schedules if anyone wants to volunteer to be the administrator: ie. http://www.lotsahelpinghands.com

2. I don’t know if the Krim family (including extended family) need places to stay or if hotels are being covered, but perhaps home hospitality would be welcome? Or if someone has a pied-à-terre they could offer…

3.  Collect messages from the various websites, blogs, newspaper articles etc. so that, when the family is ready, they can read the outpouring of support that everyone has for them.  My sister created a memory book for the children left paralyzed in Houston after their parents were killed in the same car accident and I know that the community was supportive of making a special book for the survivors.  Maybe something like this.

There may already be an organized community who intimately know the family so I don’t want to duplicate efforts.  I do know, that many families and many nannies read this blog and we all want to know how we can help.  Please let me know if there is something that you’d like to see here.

I wish you all well,

Valerie

 

About valeriegerstein

A former online media professional, I am home, on the Upper West Side, with my 2 gorgeous girls, Mia and Liza and their wonderful Daddy, Mark.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The world is watching but WE LIVE HERE

  1. Dina Bergshoeff says:

    I do not know the krim family and I do not live in NYC but I came across your blog because I cannot stop thinking and researching the Krim family.. I’ve been wanting to find something that will get to them and not get lost in the hundreds of articles and reports written about them. Ever since hearing the news last week, I have not been able to stop thinking about them. As a mother of 2 small children, I can’t even imagine the depth of pain they are in. And not just for Marina and Kevin, but for Nessie who has lost her siblings. I have been sickened by this story. Totally and utterly broken for them. It’s kept me up at night and I’ve struggled through my days just thinking of their pain. I want to help. I have no idea how or what anyone could possibly do for them at this point. This is the most devastating thing a parent can imagine. So, I want the Krim family to know that the world WEEPS with you. The world is grieving heavily for you. Your babies are craddled in Jesus’ loving arms. They are together and safe and not in any pain. It’s you, us along side you, left behind broken and confused and angry. And we ask, we pray, for some kind of supernatural strength to get through each minute of the day. Try not to think to far ahead. Concentrate on today…each hour. You are loved Krim family. And we will continue to love you through the pain.

    • Dina, every mom, dad, administrator, nanny every person I talk with here on the Upper West Side feels what you feel. And none of us know anything specific we can do to help. I”ll do my best to post information that is appropriate to share and perhaps you will find solace on the Memorial page on Facebook or the Hippo Playground page on Facebook where perhaps the family will go when they are ready to read about the love and support from around the world. No one can know what they need, not even them, I’m sure. Be well and hug your kids like we all are doing here (though with school being out, I see many frazzled parents on these streets too!)

    • Sad says:

      Like you, I am devastated and have spent the past week grieving for a family on the other side of the world, yet also in the depths of my heart. Lulu, pretty little girl and Leo, handsome little man, I never met you but I think of you constantly, as I do your mum, dad and precious Nessie. xxxxx

    • sharon says:

      Beautifully said! I am a mother of three and there aren’t words to explain this sick act. We are taught not to judge other but how can someone do such a thing to young children, to angels is beyond me.

  2. sharon says:

    Hi Valerie you are truly a beautiful person for demonstrating such compassion. My heart goes out to the Krim’s. May God give them the strength they need to move forward.

Leave a Reply

