Godspell on Broadway!

GodspellSmall.jpgDid you ever go to see the Donkey Show if you were in the City in the late 1990s? My friends and I went multiple times, we loved it.  This production of Godspell reminded me of the Donkey Show in that the talent was captivating, the stories would draw me in and there was no doubt that each performer belonged on that stage.  All this while being very edgy, a little uncomfortable at times and part of something unique.

The Circle in the Square theatre is unlike most Broadway theaters in that you sit, literally around the circular stage. Once we arrived, Mark and I knew this was going to be a special experience.  Mark said that I shold write that it was not his thing but all I could think while I was there was how I was so excited to tell Mia that one of the performers is the original Camp Rock actress.  Mia still demands that Camp Rock is a JCC camp original.  But clearly, the actress we saw on stage is just pure talent that Disney shared live in NYC!  The costumes were funky the gimmicks many.  And the “kiddush” with mini-plastic cups of Manischewitz-tasting wine was a humorous touch to connect the audience with each other during intermission.  There were multiple volunteers pulled up from the audience and it was clearly focused on the social media elements as they apply to live theatre – how to appeal to the younger generation.  I felt young again going to this show.  I always appreciate pure talent and I’m so glad we live in NYC.

If you would like to see the show, here is a discount:

 DISCOUNT CODE: GSMDR79

$79.50 / $89.50 (Sat Eves)

Certain black out dates apply

Valid through 12/23/11

http://www.broadwayoffers.com/go.aspx?MD=2001&MC=GSMDR79

 Show’s Website: www.Godspell.com  

 Tickets: http://www.godspell.com/tickets.html      

Small Logo Cropped.jpg

About valeriegerstein

A former online media professional, I am home, on the Upper West Side, with my 2 gorgeous girls, Mia and Liza and their wonderful Daddy, Mark.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

